As you know, I am proud of all my children.  My son Austin is no exception.  He also has always been very clear on who he is and what he wants.  His creativity led him first to remodeling and decorating.  He could have done that for a living.  However, he found himself drawn to doing hair.  He also followed his passion.  After much research, he decided that Aveda was the place for him.

Austin Aveda Show.

He landed a job with Ted Gibson of “What Not to Wear” fame while still in school.

Hair 8 Ted

Another part of who Austin is presents itself in his willingness to give back.  The following story and picture ran in our local paper:

Nine economically-disadvantaged teens and young adults, some homeless, got a bit of pampering at Blend Beauty Lounge and then dinner at J72 Chef’s Lounge all for free during the “Beauty and the Feast” event in Davie. The girls are residents at 4 KIDS of South Florida, a non-profit that finds homes for children, teens and young adults in crisis, based in Fort Lauderdale. The owners of the establishments said they simply want to reach out to the less fortunate if even for just one day.

(Taimy Alvarez / Sun Sentinel)

 

Austin giving back

Currently at Blend Beauty – every day, he helps women to feel more beautiful.

Hair 7

From beautiful blonds using Balayage.  (his kid sister Molly the Baker is his model)

Hair 5

To vivid and amazing colors.  Color correction, too.  (friend Stephanie is his model)

Hair 1

Gorgeous, one-of-a-kind coloring (his sister in law Bree is his model)

Hair 4

Letting people express themselves with beautiful, unique hair (friend Anandi is his model)

Hair 3

Wow – amazing (significant other Daniel is is model)

Hair 2

Austin is an artist.  His vision, eye for color, his talent, are a gift.  I love when he does my hair and makes me feel beautiful.  (his sister Olivia and I are his models)

Livy and Mom

He keeps the whole family looking beautiful!  Austin introduced me to unique hair, and I’ll never go back to boring colors.  Maybe it’s my inner rebellious teenager, but I choose to continue to embrace the opportunity to express myself with colorful hair!

Hair 6

Thank you for letting me share another proud mama moment.  More of these “tributes” to my children are to follow.  They are all truly the best thing!

 

