Puerto Rico Waterfall

With a son who is a talented colorist, an artist really, I have been fortunate enough to try fun hair colors.

My latest look is reminiscent of a peacock!

 

People will say the most interesting things to me.  Some stare.  Some complement.  Some criticize.  One thing is for sure, I no longer blend into the background, unnoticed.  People hold doors for me, say “Hello” even.  Children have laughed out loud and told me they love my hair.  I feel better about myself, and take more care with the way I dress and I even sometimes use a little make-up. Having colorful hair makes me more approachable.  It opens so many doors to connections with people that would otherwise never occur.

Acceptance

Sometimes I forget that I have outrageous hair and am reminded by the behavior of others.  My 4 year old grandson was not happy the first time I tried an unusual color.  He said that he wanted me to have brown or black hair or something.  He has since come to accept that Mom Mom likes to color her hair.

Kaden 4

 

I decided to research what the experts say about people who color their hair unusual colors.  The reasons they gave ranged from – “to get attention” to “to be unique” to “because they are risk takers”.  It was making sense to me.  I’m going through a time of change in my life, and changing my appearance helps me see myself in a different light.

be-curious_800

What I found the most unsettling about the articles I read weren’t the articles themselves, but rather, the comments people made were unbelievable.  The level of condemnation and judgment is staggering.   These individuals who felt compelled to name call and criticize couldn’t look past the hair color, just like they can’t look beyond weight, skin color, gender, affluence, age, or any of the other numerous differences we all have.  It’s sad because it represents what keeps people from connecting.  It is judging someone without giving them a chance to show you who they are.

all my kids and then some

