sam_2898

1 1/4 c. milk  – I used coconut almond milk

1/2 c. agave syrup – the recipe called for sugar, but I prefer agave

1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice – I left this out, since I used pumpkin butter that was seasoned

3 large eggs, slightly beaten

1 can pumpkin (15 oz.)  – I actually used up the pumpkin butter instead!

4 1/2 c. cubed  bread  – I used a seedy whole wheat and the seeds gave it a nice crunch!

Cooking spray

Combine first five ingredients in a large bowl.  Whisk until frothy.  Add bread and toss gently to coat.  Spoon into an 8 inch square baking dish sprayed with cooking spray.

Cover and refrigerate at least 30 minutes, or up to overnight.

Preheat oven to 350.  Place baking dish in a larger dish with an inch of water.  Cook covered for 25 minutes.  Remove foil and bake an additional 10 – 15 minutes until knife in enter comes out clean.

I served it warm topped with vanilla yogurt and some stewed strawberries.

