sam_2832

Above is a picture of a breakfast I have made countless times and have enjoyed on holiday mornings and ordinary mornings.  The key is to pick the most delicious apples, of course.  Today’s dumplings were made with HUGE golden delicious apples that made me think of my Dad.  He always ate golden delicious.  Softer skin.  Easier on his teeth.  But also, so darn amazing and flavorful.

I also like that they now have a honey butter variety of the crescent dough.  The extra honey in the dough really adds another layer of flavor.

2 apples, cored and cut into 8ths.

2 tubes crescent dough (I used honey butter)

4 eggs

1 C. milk, creamer, creamer, half and half, or any combination thereof.  (I used Cilifia Farms Coconut Almond Blend with no added sugar)

1/2 c. raw sugar

1 Tbsp. vanilla

sam_2826

First you prepare a 13 x 9 baking dish by spraying it with coconut oil and preheat the oven to 375F.

Cut two apples into 8 wedges each.

Wrap apple wedges in crescent dough and place in baking dish.

Bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown.

sam_2829

Mix together eggs, milk/cream mixture, sugar, and vanilla.  (custard)

sam_2827

Pour custard carefully over crescent wrapped apple wedges.

sam_2830

I serve this topped with vanilla yogurt.  You can sprinkle the apples with cinnamon, ginger, or cloves.  You could sprinkle nuts on top before baking the custard.

 

