sam_2760

Florida is an interesting place to live during hurricane season.  Anytime one heads our way, folks clear the shelves in the local stores of water, canned goods, bread, etc.  The threat of at the very least losing power makes the thought of what’s in the fridge and freezer going bad!  I feel so fortunate that we dodged the bullet this time.  When I see reports of the devastation, I know just how lucky we are that it skirted by us.

My daughter and son in law made a huge batch of taco meat and rice in case they had guests (since their house is inland and has hurricane shutters).  I was blessed with the leftovers, and we had a fantastic dinner thanks to them.

4 cups leftover taco meat

4 cups leftover cooked rice

1 jar salsa

1 can of black beans

1 package (20) fajita style flour tortillas

Shredded Cheese

Tomatoes

Shredded Lettuce

Diced Onion

I added salsa to the taco meat and heated it up.

sam_2758

I added black beans to the rice and heated it up.

sam_2759

Meanwhile, I put the tortillas on a large baking sheet in a 200F oven to heat.

Toppings included cheese, tomatoes, lettuce and onion.  We were missing sour cream and avocado, but the tacos were so yummy, we didn’t miss them.

sam_2757

The kids all voted for tacos more often!

 

