Boo Hoo

This is how I feel about not getting a picture of tonight’s dinner because it was such a success and I still wanted to share the recipe.  The sweetie in the picture is my youngest grandson who has just been told by his mom that he can’t put the bathroom rug in his mouth!  Calling it a fusion dish is a stretch.  The only non traditional ingredient is the pad thai noodles.

2 packs Kame pad thai rice noodles – the soft wide kind

2-3 cups shredded leftover chicken

1 jar Fresh Market alfredo sauce

1 large sweet onion, sliced thinly

Salt

2 Tbsp. olive oil

2 Tbsp. butter

2 Tbsp. pesto sauce

2 Tbsp. parmesan cheese

2 Tbsp. tuscan seasoning – with red pepper flakes if you like a little heat!

When I put chicken alfredo on the menu plan for tonight, I originally planned to use some spaghetti my cousin had given me recently.  (She’s dieting and avoiding pasta).  When I looked more closely, though, the pasta was ginger, citrus!  Not exactly what I would want in alfredo.  The only other noodles I had on hand were the pad thai rice noodles.

The pad thai rice noodles are best cooked in oil in a skillet.

Cook onions in olive oil with a little salt and some of the tuscan seasoning until they were softened and translucent.  Add butter and pesto, and continue to cook until nicely browned.  Add in chicken and noodles, stirring until well blended.  Pour alfredo sauce over it all and heat through.

Before serving, sprinkle with remaining tuscan seasoning and parmesan.

My son, Austin, said this was the best alfredo ever!  Easy add ins:  peppers, mushrooms, spinach.  YUM!

 

 

