SAM_2467

I was originally planning to make some meatballs to freeze, but ran out of steam after mixing up the meat, etc.  Then I decided meatloaf would work, but it takes so long to cook, dinner would be late if I put it in after getting home from work.  I checked out recipes for meatloaf in the crock pot and all the recipes sounded like standard meatloaf.  After reading the reviews, I decided to line the crock pot with foil and spray it before putting the meatloaf in.  I wasn’t too worried about grease, since it was mostly ground chicken breast with a little ground pork.  This recipe makes a huge meatloaf.  I cooked in in my big oval crock pot on low for 8 hours and then it was on warm for 3 more hours before serving.

SAM_2465

4 lb. ground chicken

1 lb. ground pork

2 eggs

1/8 c. pickle relish

1/8 c. pesto

16 oz ricotta cheese

1/2 c. seasoned panko breadcrumbs

1 Tbsp. mango marsala curry salt

1 Tbsp. steak seasoning

1 small onion, finely chopped

Combine everything and shape into large football shaped loaf.

Place in prepared crock pot on low until internal temperature reaches 165 F.  Mine actually got up over 200, but it was still moist and delicious.

SAM_2466

