SAM_2461

My menu planning is based on what is on sale, and I tend to use ingredients available at a discount to make variations of other recipes.  Lately the local market has been running sales on thinly sliced chicken breast.  I also happened to have half a jar of pineapple salsa leftover, and some honey goat cheese I had bought on a BOGO sale.  This was improvised after getting home from work one night using items on hand.

10 chicken cutlets (ideally pounded thin, but I was in a rush and some were a little thick)

1 1/2 small logs honey goat cheese

1 c. shredded cheese (I used colby jack)

2 Tbsp. minced garlic

1/2 jar pineapple salsa

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Pour salsa in bottom of a 13 x 9 baking dish, reserving 1/4 c.

Mix honey goat cheese, garlic and 1/4 c. shredded cheese.

Place spoon of cheese mixture on each cutlet and roll, placing seam side down in salsa in baking dish.

Spoon remaining salsa over chicken pieces.

Top with remaining shredded cheese.

I served this with one of my go to side dishes, Minute Rice Multigrain Medley mixed with a Dole Chopped Salad mix.

 

 

 

