Stuffed Poblano Pepper Casserole

I had bought some ground Angus beef at the store and cooked it up with onions and peppers with no particular meal in mind.  Then my friend shared some poblano peppers and this recipe was born!

poblano

He cut the poblanos in half and took out all the seeds.  I put them in a glass bowl with a little water in the microwave to soften them up. (about 6 minutes)

6 poblano peppers

5 lb. ground Angus beef

1 onion, chopped

1 red pepper, chopped

1 yellow pepper, chopped

1 packet taco seasoning (or make your own mix.  I got packets on sale for $.29 so I have some on hand!)

1 can garbanzo beans, drained

1 can black beans

1 jar salsa (I used peach)

4 c. cooked wild and brown rice

2 c. shredded cheese (I used a mix of Italian and Mexican)

1. Brown the meat with chopped onions and peppers.  Add taco seasoning and remaining ingredients except poblanos.

2.  Spray two 13 x 9 baking dishes with coconut oil.

3.  Arrange poblano halves in both dishes.

4.  Top with meat mixture.

5.  Sprinkle with cheese.

6.  Bake 350 F for 30 minutes.

7.  ENJOY!!

 

