I woke up Sunday morning and made the kids an apple dumpling casserole for breakfast.  While I was at it, I a Taco Cornbread Casserole for them to have for dinner, as I was heading out for the day.

First I wrapped the apple slices (2 apples cut into 8ths) in crescent dough (2 tubes) and placed them in a 13 x 9 baking dish sprayed with coconut oil.

SAM_2314

Then, I made the cornbread:

1 Package corn bread mix (I used XO Baking Co. Gluten Free)

 

XO-Baking-Co-Corn-Bread

2 eggs

1 c. vanilla almond milk

1 can cream style corn

1 can whole kernel corn

Mix and pour into 13 x 9 baking dish sprayed with coconut oil.

Bake 350F for 20 minutes.   I did this alongside the apple dumpling casserole, which also cooks for 20 minutes at 350.

 

Meanwhile, I prepared the taco meat for the taco casserole:

2 lb. cooked crumbled ground meat with onion (I keep 2 lb. tupperware of cooked ground meat in the freezer).

Mix with 2 pouches Taco Sauce.  I used Frontera Texas Original Taco Skillet Sauce.  It is very mild, so next time I would punch it up with some jalapeno or something.

SAM_2319

Remove both baking dishes and prepare as follows:

SAM_2315

Spread taco meat mixture over baked cornbread.  Cover and refrigerate for later use.  When ready to eat, sprinkle with shredded cheese and bake for 30 minutes.

SAM_2320

At the point I took the cornbread and crescent rolls from the oven, I had also already made the custard to pour over it:

4 eggs

1 c. milk

1/2 c. sugar

1 Tbsp. vanilla

Pour over baked cresent rolls

SAM_2316

and bake at 350 for 20 minutes until custard is golden.

SAM_2321

Serve with vanilla yogurt.

I like to make multiple dishes simultaneously to cut down on dishes.  In this instance, the bowl I mixed up the cornbread batter in was rinsed and then used to mix the taco meat and sauce.

 

