Chipotle Bourbon Chicken (second time)

My daughter, Olivia, who had the baby (Konnor) on Wednesday, came home from the hospital Friday.

11949404_1080938091931375_4163035949302295550_n

I wanted to contribute, so I went over with a second Little Big Meal deal I bought and made them dinner.  She sent me a sweet thank you today, as she eats some of the leftovers.  I decided that what it needed was fresh vegetables cut bigger than the frozen seasoning veggies I had used, and more beans, so I added in cannellini beans too.  It was way better!

Here goes . . .

24 oz. cubed chicken (again I cut it smaller)

1 packet Hak’s Chipotle Bourbon sauce

Cooked brown rice

LittleBigMeal_Sept2015

My add ins:

1 large sweet onion, sliced

1 bag small sweet peppers, sliced

2 Tbsp. canola oil

1 can garbanzo beans, drained

1 can cannellini beans, drained

1 32 oz. container vegetable broth

  1.  Bring vegetable broth to a boil.  Add in 2 c. brown rice.  (The package that comes with a deal leaves you enough for another night)
  2. Heat oil in skilled and brown chicken over medium heat, just until no pink shows.
  3. Meanwhile, slice veggies.
  4. Remove chicken from skillet and add in veggies.  Cook until soft.
  5. Place chicken on top of veggies.
  6. Top with beans.
  7. Top with sauce.
  8. Stir gently and simmer until rice is done.
  9. Serve with the salad that comes with it, or save it for another night.
  10. Enjoy the cookies and tea that come with it too!  This is the best Little Big Meal so far.  I can’t wait until next Thursday!!
