SAM_2069

2 lb. ground chicken (from Fresh Market Tuesday Sale of course!)

2 lb. ground chuck (also from Fresh Market Tuesday Sale of course!)

1 lb. ground pork (Fresh Market)

1 container Tofutti Dairy Free Ricotta

1/2 c. sweet pickle relish

2 Tbsp. steak seasoning

1 Tbsp. coarse salt

2 Tbsp. pesto

2 Tbsp. chopped chives

1/2 c. oats

Olive oil blend

Combine all ingredients.  Shape into large football shaped loaf.

You can cover and freeze for future use, which is what I did.

Before baking, spread thin layer of olive oil blend over top of loaf.

Bake at 375 F for 1 1/2 hours.  Reduce heat to 325 and cook until internal temperature is 165F.

This recipe came about because of the meat sale at Fresh Market.  I love ricotta in my meatloaf ever since Lidia’s Italy introduced me to it. I usually add in egg, but was out of eggs.   My daughter and I are staying away from dairy and gluten right now.

Somehow the combination of the ricotta and the fresh meats made this the most delicious meatloaf ever.  You could easily use real ricotta or cottage cheese if you’re eating dairy.

If you freeze the meatloaf, it will take at least a day, maybe as much as 2 to defrost in the fridge.

I cooked fresh mushrooms in Irish butter and served that over the meatloaf.  I was afraid it would be dry.  It was the moistest meatloaf I’ve ever made.

