SAM_2030

My son, Elliot, is feeling under the weather today.  He missed work, and he never misses work!

Elliot riding along

I thought some soup would do him some good.  Rather than run out and get soup, I made good use of stuff I had on hand.

4-6 cups homemade chicken broth

1 c. chopped chicken

baby carrots, cut up

1/4 onion, chopped

1 lb. gluten free noodles (I used corn noodles)

I buy chicken whenever my local market is selling it dirt cheap because it’s expiration day.  I come right home and cook it up using my “Simple Make Ahead Chicken” recipe posted December 23, 2014 https://vickidelbrouck.wordpress.com/2014/12/23/simple-make-ahead-chicken   I reserve the cooking liquid for future recipes.  It’s richer than broth, though, so I mix equal parts of the cooking liquid and water when using it in place of broth in a recipe.  Shredded chicken always seems to come in handy.  Obviously, you can add in celery, garbanzo beans, etc. but I kept it simple.

It made me feel so good to be able to give him soup.  Maybe it’s an old wives’ tale that it makes you feel better, but I believe it!

