SAM_1679

The other night I made Italian Hot Sausage in the Crock Pot (which we ate as subs)  I used the leftover sausage and sauce to make this casserole.  The recipe for the Hot Sausage follows.

4 leftover sausage

4 c. leftover pasta sauce

2 bags frozen cheese tortellini

2 c. shredded cheese

Combine one package frozen tortellini with 2 c. of sauce and layer in bottom of a 13 x 9 baking dish sprayed with cooking spray.  I did it right in the baking dish so I wouldn’t have another dish to wash!

SAM_1675

SAM_1676

Slice sausage and layer evenly over tortellini.

SAM_1677

Sprinkle with cheese.

Mix remaining package of tortellini with remaining sauce.

Spread into baking dish.

Sprinkle remaining cheese.

SAM_1678

I covered mine with foil and refrigerated it overnight.

Bake 350 F for 40-45 minutes.

Yummy!

Here’s how I made the sausage:

2 lb. Italian sausage (hot)

4 c. fresh spinach

1 c. shredded carrots

1/2 large sweet onion, chopped

(add in mushrooms, garlic, peppers, etc. all to taste)

2 jars pasta sauce or 6 cups homemade

1/2 c. red wine

Place veggies in crock pot.

SAM_1672

Layer sausage over veggies.

SAM_1673

Pour sauce over sausage.  Use wine to get the last little bit out of the jars if using sauce in a jar.  Pour it around the outer edge of the crock pot.

SAM_1674

Cover and cook on low 8-10 hours.

Save the sauce!  I put it in the freezer for a future meal if I’m not using it right away.

