I love love love watching Lidia’s Italy.  She explains things in a way that helps me see things I can incorporate in to my own recipes.  We enjoy chicken meatballs, but the ground chicken is so wet and sticky and hard to work with.  Lidia was making meatballs out of veal.  She made the meat mixture extra simple and then rolled the meatballs in a seasoned flour and flattened them a little like tiny sliders.

SAM_1609

2 lb. ground chicken

1 egg

1/4 c. Italian seasoned panko breadcrumbs

1/2 c. flour seasoned with seasoning of choice.  I used my old favorite Cajun seasoning.

4 c, marinara sauce

Mix chicken, egg and bread crumbs and form meatballs.  Roll them in seasoned flour.  Flatten them like little patties and bake them at 325 F for 40 minutes in 13 x 9 baking dish coated with olive oil.  Turn meatballs/patties so there is olive oil on both sides.

Remove from baking dishes and pat them dry.

Pour sauce in baking dishes and top with meatballs.  Pour remaining sauce over meatballs.  You can cover and refrigerate at this point for future use.

Top with cheese.

Bake at 350 F for 25 minutes if cooked from room temperature, or 35-40 minutes if from the fridge.

I can’t put my finger on what it is that makes it so much better when you roll them in flour!  I do know that’s what I’ll do to meatballs, burgers, and meatloaf from now on!

