SAM_1475

2 balls store bought pizza dough (my local market had a BOGO sale on it)

2 jars pizza sauce (also on BOGO)

1 lb. cooked, crumbled hot Italian sausage

2 c. shredded 6 Italian cheese

My youngest, Donovan (a/k/a Donnie) loves Stromboli, so when the local market put it on sale, I decided to try making ‘homemade’ stromboli.

Let dough rise for one hour (you should buy this day of or day before.  Mine was bought on the 29th and rose and fell in the fridge.

SAM_1465

Mix sausage and sauce.  I used the hot Italian sausage I had cooked, crumbled and frozen for future use when it was on sale.

SAM_1374

SAM_1376

SAM_1378

Roll dough out into rectangle on a floured surface.

Sprinkle with 1/2 c. cheese.

Top with sausage and sauce mixture.

Top with remaining cheese.

Roll  and seal edges.

Now the funny part about this is, I read up on this, and everyone said to use egg to seal the dough.  I forgot on the first one,

SAM_1466

but remembered for the second.  Neither dough sealed well, but the one with the egg was a disaster!

SAM_1467

Place on baking sheet or jelly roll pan.  Cut slits to vent heat.

Bake at 425 for 15 minutes or until golden brown.

SAM_1470 SAM_1468

It was really delicious, at least.

Next time, I would use less sausage and add in some veggies!

