SAM_1263

I bought some ground turkey on sale and wanted to make a meatloaf, but forgot to buy ricotta.  No worries, I had recorded an episode of “Secrets of a Restaurant Chef” with Anne Burrell in which she made homemade ricotta, and I had lots of milk and even heavy cream on hand!

I cut her recipe in half because I only had about a cup of heavy cream.

3 c. whole milk

1 c. heavy cream

1 1/2 Tbsp. distilled white vinegar

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

In a medium saucepan, combine the milk, heavy cream, vinegar and salt.  Place over medium heat and slowly bring to a simmer.  Simmer 1 to 2 minutes.  Curds should begin to form.

Meanwhile, line a mesh strainer (she used cheesecloth, I improvised and used paper towels).  Gently pour heated mixture through the strainer and let drain for 15 minutes.  Gently squeeze excess liquid from cheese.

Anne served it spread on garlic toast which looked yummy.  I used it in the meatloaf mixture like the meatloaf recipe listed a while back on my blog that I got from Lidia (Lidia’s Italy).

Molly said they made ricotta at school, but that they used a little buttermilk to speed up the curdling process.  I did add a little more vinegar and cooked it longer, since it didn’t seem like enough curds.  In the end it was delicious.

