Polish Pasta Fagioli (Haluski Inspired Soup)

While watching Diners, Drive Ins and Dives the other night, Guy Fieri visited a place in Pittsburgh (my ever loving home town) The restaurant was called Kelly O’s. They prepared a Haluski – Cabbage Noodle Mix – that inspired me to do a Polish version of Pasta Fagioli using my leftover pot roast! The result was a success, so I wanted to share!

4 c. leftover pot roast, chopped
1 sweet onion, coarsely chopped
1 package cole slaw mix (I actually used an Asian Slaw mix that was not fresh enough to eat as a salad – I put the toppings and dressing aside for another time)
1 container (48 oz.) chicken broth
1 can black beans
1 can great northern beans
2 Tbsp. pesto
2 Tbsp. chili paste
1 lb. gluten free noodles

Saute onions and cabbage in a little olive oil until slightly carmelized.

Place in large crock pot.

Add in meat, drained, rinsed beans, broth and seasonings.

Cover an cook on low 6-8 hours.

Cook noodles to al dente.

Drain (reserving some liquid in case soup is not liquidy enough).

Add noodles to crock pot. Add in pasta liquid to make more like soup. (I added back in 3 cups)

Keep warm on low until ready to eat.

Eat topped with Parmesan or other cheese.

If I had had bacon or bacon bits on hand, this would have not only made it more authentic ‘Haluski’ type food, but it would have added some saltiness – which this recipe really needs. Add something salty!

