Apple Creme Brulee Coffee Cake (Adapted from Sarah's Cucina Bella)

Apples/Creme Brulee Layer:

4 apples, sliced
1/2 c. unsalted butter
1 c. light brown sugar
2 Tbsp. honey or other syrup

Batter:
1 c. Bisquick (I used gluten free)
1 c. milk
6 eggs, slightly beaten
1/2 c. sugar
1 tsp. vanilla

Cook apples with water until tender, drain.
SAM_0989
Mix remaining brulee ingredients in saucepan over medium heat and stir with a whisk until smooth, about 4 to 6 minutes.

Place apples in bottom of 13 x 9 dish sprayed with cooking spray. Layer apples across bottom. Pour brulee over apples.
SAM_0990
In a medium bowl, mix batter ingredients until well combined. I guess I was really tired when I made this because I just realized as I type this that I forgot the milk!!
SAM_0991
Pour batter over brulee and refrigerate 8 to 24 hours.
SAM_0992
Heat oven to 350. Bake 45-50 minutes until golden brown and set.
SAM_0993
Cut into squares and serve with breakfast meat (we had turkey sausage)

It was really good, but I wonder how much better it could have been if I actually followed the recipe!!

SAM_0994

