Empty the Fridge Chili with Gluten Free Chips

My kids used to resist leftovers. They still would rather not think about the ingredients in a new recipe being leftovers. However, it is the only way to not waste food sometimes.

If I have leftover meat, be it steak, shredded meat, ground meat, hamburgers, meatballs, whatever, I often freeze small portions to keep for a quick add in to a crock pot meal.

I also hold on to soups, sauces and broths.

My favorite container of choice for this is plastic gelato containers with screw on lids that I use over and over. Love them!

Tonight, I combined:

Leftover steak, cubed
Leftover chicken sausage, cut into small pieces
Leftover brown rice
1 jar salsa
1 c. chicken broth
Leftover beans from cassoulet (the kids picked all the meat out)

I combined it all when I got home and heated it a skillet and poured it into my crock pot to keep warm. The kids were none the wiser and enjoyed the gluten free chips and toppings.

These chips are our new favorite!
SAM_0947

SAM_0946
We topped it with shredded cheese, diced avocado and sour cream.

Don’t tell them it’s leftovers!

