Happy New Year!  Pulled Pork Sandwiches

I found my camera today, but alas, too late to photograph anything. This picture is from Shamrocks and Shenanigans’ blog.

My menu was decided for me when I got a great bargain on a pork roast yesterday!  I rubbed it with Cajun seasoning and refrigerated it overnight. I put it in the crock pot on my lunch break today. I poured a small amount of what I had left of some spicy marinade I had frozen but not labeled in the bottom. I knew it was spicy because I could see the red pepper flakes in it.

I cooked it on high for approximately 6 hours. I then shredded it and removed it from the juices (which I reserved for who knows what future use).  Actually, I’m making a soup in the crock pot tomorrow, and will probably use a little of the reserved juices in addition to the chicken broth called for in the recipe.

I put the shredded pork back in the crock pot on low with barbecue sauce (we used a mixture from several bottles and doctored it up with garlic and onion) and kept it warm until everyone was ready to eat.

We had sandwiches topped with leftover cole slaw from the other night and it was delicious!

