Chicken and Brown Rice

Remember the chicken that I cooked and shredded? I intended to make chicken croquettes for dinner tonight, but unfortunately didn’t look at the recipe closely enough to realize that once assembled, the croquettes need to be refrigerated for a minimum of two hours before cooking. Oops! No time for that.  Plan B!!

Instead, I made a divine chicken with gravy over brown rice:

2 c. cooked chicken, shredded
1 stick butter
1/2 c. gluten free flour mix
1 container chicken broth

I melted the butter in a skillet.

SAM_0557

Added the gluten free flour to make a pasty mixture, which I cooked until golden. Slowly add broth in small doses, stirring after each addition. Blend until smooth.

Add chicken. Heat through.

SAM_0558

Make brown rice.

Serve chicken and gravy over brown rice.

