Parmesian Pesto Chicken with Alfredo Mac and Chhese

12 boneless chicken thighs
1/2 c. crushed crispix cereal (careful if you can’t have gluten at all – these have traces of malt)  If you can’t have any gluten, try substituting a similar crunchy cereal.  Rice Krispies would probably work well.
1 c. shredded Parmesian cheese
2 tsp. Italian seasoning
1 tsp. garlic salt
2 Tbsp. pesto
2 Tbsp. olive oil

Preheat oven to 350F.

Mix together pesto and olive oil in a flat dish.

Mix remaining ingredients for coating.

Dip chicken pieces in oil/pesto mixture. Dredge with coating mix.

Place on baking sheets lined with foil and sprayed with olive oil.

Bake for approximately 35 minutes depending on thickness, until internal temperature reaches 165 F.

This reminded me so much of a recipe my mom used to make with cubes of pork on small thick skewers that she called city chicken.

The flavors in the coating mix were yummy.

I served this with Mueller’s gluten free penne pasta cooked to al dente, mixed with a jar of Classico light alfredo sauce (gluten free – yay!) and a couple of teaspoons of the pesto. I then sprinkled a little of the coating mix with extra shredded cheese on top of the noodles and baked them along side the chicken for the last 15 minutes of their baking time.

I hope no one is upset that I’m stuck in a chicken mode! I got a great sale on the boneless chicken and the kids love love love it!

Tonight at the local grocery store that marks their meats WAY down before they expire, I got some really lean ground beef, some pork ribs, and hot dogs on sale, so those will show up in some future recipes.  My menu plan for the week includes a corn dog casserole the kids are crazy about.

Night before last, we were at Marshall’s and they had a great selection of gluten free stuff I’ll report to you on as we sample them!

I found a great website that had a list of gluten-free products offered by Heinz, etc.  I couldn’t get it to copy and paste as a link (sorry, too computer challenged!) but if you cut and paste, it works!

http://www.celiac.com/gluten-free/topic/67077-updated-gluten-free-list-heinz-ore-ida-classico-delimex/

 

 

 

